Today I move from Haydn back to Mozart for an illustrated talk in the excellent Speakers for  Schools programme, initiated by BBC’s Robert Peston. I’ve been on the speakers roster for a couple of years now, and it’s a wonderful way of engaging with young talent, hopefully inspiring them to step out of their comfort zones and respond to the challenges that their individual talents pose.

In many cases, Speakers for Schools have found that an inspirational talk from a business leader, creative artist, scientist, NGO representative, museum director and so on (the list is very long) has spurred pupils on to greater self belief.

I’ll be talking and playing at Coombe Boys School in New Malden this afternoon, explaining how I reconsidered and rebalanced my academic and practical interests through the discovery of period instruments and playing techniques.

