Released on 15 May on the iTunes Store, The Mozart Project is a unique interactive digital book on Mozart published by The Pipedreams Collective.

I well remember getting an email out of the blue in November 2012 from James Fairclough (co-founder along with Harry Farnham) asking if I might be prepared to talk to them about becoming involved in a digital book on Mozart that they were planning. Our first meeting at the Southbank Centre  was, I think, a success. I played them recent footage of DeNOTE’s DVD Documentary on Mozart’s “Kegelstatt” Trio (subsequently released worldwide on London University’s iTunesU platform) and I think they decided I may have something to offer…

I authored two chapters (on the Concertos and the Chamber Music) along with the Glossary of terms and a fair number of audio and video clips introducing Mozart’s concertos, chamber works and the period keyboards on which he conceived his works. On a wintry March day in 2013 Ensemble DeNOTE recorded a selection of video films of Mozart’s piano concertos and chamber music, along with a few extracts from Mozart’s solo keyboard works in a rather chilly, yet wonderfully resonant hall in Winchester College (a sister foundation to New College, Oxford, and with the same motto which I well remember from my days as a Stipendiary Lecturer there under the legendary Edward Higginbottom, ‘Manners makeythe Men’).

Well today (coincidentally on my birthday) The Mozart Project has ascended to the number 1 spot on the iTunes non-fiction list. Not bad!

Check out The Mozart project on Twitter (also with details of how to purchase for the bargain price of £9.99): @themozproj

 

